Yesterday, the munchkin, the hubs, and I, along with the Dodges went to Disneyland for Mother’s Day. While there, I took a sleeping Tyler along for a walk around the park while everyone else went on rides. During our walk, I went into one of the stores and saw these little figurines called Vinylmations. Basically, they are figurines shaped like Mickey but decorated by different artists. They are “collectables” but the catch is that you can’t choose which one you want. You have to pick a sealed box, buy it, and then open it and hope that it’s the one you want. If it’s not–and chances are, it won’t be–then you can “trade” your’s with one of several places around the park who have them to trade. But only ones that are displayed in a special acrylic case by the register are available to trade. Usually, there are 3 to trade from. If you’re lucky and find that the one you’re looking for is one that’s being traded at one of these spots, then you can trade your’s and the one you traded will then replace the one you took. There are several series of these Vinylmations, and each series has 12 different designs plus one mystery one you can collect.

Anyway, as I was walking around, I noticed kids and adults alike  running around the stores where these Vinylmations were available to buy and trade looking for the one they’re missing. I never noticed this before…and I found myself obsessing over wanting to start collecting them too! Specifically, I had my eye on one that had chinese writing on it. So I took my chance and bought one. Of course, when I opened the sealed box, it wasn’t ‘the one I wanted. I was a little disappointed but decided that all was not lost and I would go around and look for all the spots that traded these and hope that I’d find the one I wanted.

By this time, the rest of the gang were done with their rides and I told them about my new found obsession.  I found out that Charlie and Chase were already collectors and had several of these at home (none of which were the one that I wanted). Before we left, Charlie and Chase went to one of the stores to look for souvenirs when Chase came up to me and said that she wanted to trade me for my figurine with the one she bought, and then handed me the little black figurine with chinese writing on it!!!!!

Her parents later told me that when Chase found out that I was on a mission to find my figurine, she decided to use her allowance to buy one and hope that she’d get the one I wanted just so she could trade me. Later, when she was buying the figurine, she told her mom that she had a good feeling about the one she chose… 🙂

Happy Mother’s Day!

